skip navigation

Boys Lacrosse Coaches

new wave boys coaching staff


Experience. Leadership. Knowledge. Talent.

 Our coaches are the backbone of our lacrosse club, which is why we value & respect them so highly. They aren't only talented scholars of the game, but well-rounded people of integrity & character as well. That's the only kind of coach we'll take and the only kind of coach we'll have mentoring our players. Take a look at our coaches for club, camps, leagues & all of our programs below.

Paul Stolzer - Director
40 Year Lacrosse Veteran. NCAA All - American in the Hall of Fame at Fairleigh Dickinson University (New Jersey). 4-Year Starter, All Time Assist Record Holder and 5th All Time Leading Scorer.

Kyle Sullivan - Director
Head Coach of Batavia High School Lacrosse. MCLA All-American and SELC Collegiate All-Conference at Eckerd College. Co-founded Eckerd's Lacrosse program and catapulted the program into national standing in just three short years. Youth Park District Coordinator. Head of Youth Club Coaches.

Andy Thompson - Director
St. Charles Lacrosse Head Coach from 2007-2012. Won 3 conference championships and went to 4 state Final 4's during this time.  Currently an Assistant Coach for St. Charles North Lacrosse since 2013. Selected as the IHSLA Assistant Coach of the Year in 2013 and the IHSLA Lacrosse Person of the Year in 2015. Was the first All-Conference player to come out of St. Charles.

Alek Szmajda
Played High School Lacrosse At St. Charles, Conference Champion, All Conference Player, And Team Captain. 4 Year Starter at Carthage College, Team Captain. Multi-Year New Wave Alumni. Previous Semi-Professional Lacrosse Player for the Chicago Outlaws.

Ben Coughlin
Played 4 Years of MCLA Lacrosse at Kansas State. Current assistant coach at NCAA D3 Aurora University. 7 years of coaching experience (college, club & high schoo). Coached at both MCLA and NAIA institutions.

Tim Hurst
10 Years of High School Lacrosse Coaching experience in Illinois. 2X Illinois State Champion (Benet Academy and Naperville Central High School). Current Assistant Coach at North Central College. Former Assistant at Benedictine University.

Jay Farrell
Head Coach at North Central College. NCAA Regional Advisory Committee Member. Former Head Lacrosse Coach at Benedictine University. Former Assistant Coach at Adrian College.

Blake Keenan
Current Assistant Coach at North Central College. 2 Year Captain at Benedictine University. 3 Year Starter at Benedictine University. 2x Season Goal Leader. 78 Goals, 101 Points in Career. 2nd Team All-MLC Attack. Attended Schaumburg High School, where he was Captain.

Kylor Berkman
Head Lacrosse Coach at DIII Aurora University. Former Assistant Coach at Salisbury University Maryland. 3X NCAA Most Outstanding Midfielder. 3X DIII All-American. 3X All Capital Conference First Team Selection. NCAA National Lacrosse Player of the Year 2008. 2015 MLC Coach of the Year.

Gerry Freaney
Current Head Coach at York High School after helping to start the program in 2007. Played Midfield at Cornell University under legendary coach Richie Moran.

Will Bradshaw
3x Captain at NCAA D3 Aurora University, including: 2015/2016/2017 3x MLC First-Team (2015-17). 2015 MLC Defensive Player of the Year. 2016 Team Defensive Player of the Year. 2016 ILL 2nd Team-Region. 2017 Scholar All-American.

Tony DePinto
Multi-Year New Wave Alumni. Midfielder at Benedictine. 2x First-Team All-Conference Benedictine University. 4x Varsity Starter Schaumburg High School. 2x All-Conference.

Jeff Smitheran

4 Year Starter, NCAA Division III Men's Lacrosse Goalie at Benedictine University. School Record Holder for:  Most saves in a season, Save Percentage, Most saves in a single game. Was named Midwest Lacrosse Conference - 3X All-Conference.  Currently the Men's Lax Assistant Coach at Benedictine. Was named All-Conference 3X in High School as well as a 3X Varsity Captain.

Aaron Vermedal
State Championship Coach at Naperville Central HS. Four Year Starter and Captain at Northern Illinois University. President of Lacrosse at Northern Illinois for 2 years. Co-Head Coach St Charles East 2 years. 3 Year Head Coach at Wheaton North

Jeremy Taylor
Current Assisstant Coach Varsity Lacrosse St. Charles North. Former Assistant Lacrosse Coach at Wheaton Academy. 15 Year Lacrosse Coaching Veteran.

Nick Bonastia
Assistant Coach NCAA Division 3 Elmhurst College. 4 Year Starter at Elmhurst College (Goalie). 2x All-Conference Selection (2016, 2017). 2015 Academic All-Conference. MBA Candidate

Chris Gipson

Former NCAA D3 Ursinus College Pennsylvania and Wittenberg University Ohio. 2nd Team All-Conference (Wittenberg). 3x All-Conference Midfield as well as 2x selection for Team Illinois. Multi-Year Lacrosse America Coach, Camp Counselor and former Team One Lacrosse Director.

Garret Rosiek
3 Year Assistant Coach at Elmhurst College. Four year starter at Aurora University. 3x All-Conference Selection MLC. 2013 MLC All-Conference Honorable Mention. 2013 National Leader in Assists (68).

Ethan Hurst
7 Year Alumni who played with New Wave since its inception. 6x Attackmen of the Year. 12 years of lacrosse experience and 3 years of coaching. Starting Attackmen at North Central College in their inaugural NCAA season.

Corey Segall 

Multi-Year New Wave Alumni. Current Player at NCAA Aurora University. Best Faceoff Win Percentage in the MLC 2017. Top 7 in the Country. 2x Most Groundballs in the MLC 2017 and 2016. MLC Defensive Player of the Week 2017. Won Conference Title Aurora University.

Jacob Taylor
7 Year New Wave Alumni. Wabash College Midfielder. 4 Years of Coaching Experience. Played Wheaton-Warrenville South Varsity for 3 Years.

Steve "Laddy" Laduzinsky
4 year starter and 4 year team captain in goal for Illinois Wesleyan University. IWU's School Record Holder in Goals Saved (619).  CCIW Champion (IWU).  Earned a bid to the NCAA Tournament where the team reached the Sweet 16 in only the fourth year of the program's existence.

Ryan Solon
Captain of the Michigan State University Lacrosse Team 2015. 2015 MCLA All-America Midfield honorable mention. 2014 3rd Team All-Conference Midfield. Recruited by the USA West official lacrosse team in High School to play for Team USA in the Asia Pacific Games.

Sean Brogan
Played Lacrosse for Division 1 2X Conference Champion Mt. Saint Mary's. 3X High School All-Conference and 2X State Final Four. Played professionally for Chicago Outlaws.

Noah Parrill
Multi-Year New Wave Alumni. North Central College Midfielder

Andrew Dubsky
Multi-Year New Wave Alumni. All-Conference Geneva Defenseman

Johnny Danko
Multi-Year New Wave Alumni. Augustana Attackmen. All-Conference Lemont High School

Danny Loyall
Played at D3 Aurora University. MLC Newcomer of the Year 2012.  2x Second Team All-Conference honors. 2015 MLC All-Sportsmanship Team.

Peter Trunk
Multi-Year New Wave Alumni. Rutgers Attackmen

Bryan Potesta
Multi-Year New Wave Alumni. All-Conference Defenseman from Lemont

Billy Anderson
Played lacrosse at Aurora University. Three year varsity player at Riverhead High School in Riverhead, NY.

Jake Moran
Multi-Year New Wave Alumni. Captain of Lindenwood (Defenseman)

Kyle Honn
Played collegiately at Carthage College. State Champion at Benet Academy.

Chris Weed
Head Coach at Wheaton North High School. 4 year starting midfielder at MCLA Purdue University